Carabao Cup quarterfinals draw: Date, time, stream, teams & matches



This season’s Carabao Cup is underway and we’re moving on to the quarterfinal stage. All eight teams are known and the draw took place on Oct. 30, a few days after the conclusion of the Round of 16 matches. 

The rest of the schedule for the Carabao Cup, or the League Cup or EFL Cup as it is alternately known, consists of single-elimination quarterfinals and then two-leg semifinals ahead of the final which is played at Wembley Stadium at the end of February.

Here’s everything you need to know about the quarterfinal draw for the Carabao Cup.

  • Quarterfinals: Tues/Wed, Dec. 21/22
  • Semifinals, Leg 1: Tues/Wed, Jan. 4/5
  • Semifinals, Leg 2: Tues/Wed, Jan. 11/12
  • Final: Sun, Feb. 27

MORE: Carabao Cup results and highlights

Carabao Cup quarterfinal draw

The Carabao Cup quarterfinal draw was held during the Soccer AM program in England on Saturday, Oct. 30, with hosts Jimmy Bullard and John Fendley conducting the draw.

Carabao Cup Quarterfinals

Date Match Time (ET) Streaming
Tues/Wed, Dec. 21/22 Tottenham vs. West Ham TBD ESPN+
Tues/Wed, Dec. 21/22 Arsenal vs. Sunderland TBD ESPN+
Tues/Wed, Dec. 21/22 Brentford vs. Chelsea TBD ESPN+
Tues/Wed, Dec. 21/22 Liverpool vs. Leicester City TBD ESPN+

Watch the draw as it happened in the video below:

Are Carabao Cup draws streamed?

The Carabao Cup draws are available to watch, free of charge on the Sky Sports YouTube channel.

The official Carabao Cup Twitter account also shares live updates while each draw happens. 

Which teams are in the Carabao Cup quarterfinals?

There are seven Premier League clubs left standing and only one lower division side in League One club Sunderland. Four of the eight quarterfinalists needed a penalty-kick shootout to this stage.

The quarterfinal matches will take place on Tuesday, Dec. 21 or Wednesday, Dec. 22.

Club League
Chelsea Premier League
Arsenal Premier League
Sunderland League One
Brentford Premier League
West Ham Premier League
Leicester City Premier League
Tottenham Premier League
Liverpool Premier League

London sides Chelsea and Arsenal knocked off Premier League opposition to advance to the final eight, though Chelsea needed penalty kicks to oust Southampton. Arsenal made tidy work of Leeds United with a 2-0 win at the Emirates.

League One club Sunderland survived against Championship side QPR, also on penalty kicks. The Black Cats will have their work cut out for them in the quarterfinal stage when they travel to face Arsenal.

Liverpool, Brentford and Tottenham all won outright on the road against their Round of 16 opponents. But Leicester City and West Ham United needed a penalty-kick shootout to get past their Premier League foes.

West Ham eliminated four-time defending title holders Manchester City, which means we’ll have a new team hoisting the trophy in 2022.


Source link